SLWS Special Edition – Paris Architecture

We could have spent our whole trip just looking at architecture in Paris. Here’s a sampling of the beautiful buildings we found.

A belfry with a gold zig-zag design and a floral ornament on top.

Architecture - Belfry Zig Zag

I think there must be some very chic penthouse apartments in these corner tower rooms.

Architecture - Corner 1 Architecture - Corner 2 Architecture - Corner 3

I’m sure there’s an official architect’s term for this but I’m calling it a modified mansard roof.

Architecture - Modified Mansard

 The Grand Palais had some lovely buildings. Next time we’ll explore the interiors.

Architecture - Grand Palais Complex

I loved this dome of the Huissiers-Audienciers du Tribunal de Commerce de la Seine (Ushers of the Commercial Court of the Seine).

Architecture - Tower Dome

I believe these two statues were atop Notre Dame.

Architecture - Tower Notre Dame

This tower,

Architecture - Tower Viking Ship

 Had a cool Viking ship weathervane.

Architecture - Tower Viking Ship DetailThe Cour de Cassation, the French Supreme Court, is on Quai de l’Horloge and faces the Seine.

Architecture - Tower Rooms Along The Seine

I tried to find a specific term for the towers but could only find “Cone-shaped Roof – A roof shaped like a cone” so I’m going with that.

Architecture - Tower Rooms Along The Seine Detail

We found this cupola topped with a weathervane on the roof of the Louvre.

Architecture - Tower Weathervane The Paris Opera must be beautiful all lit up at night.

Opera Garnier

I’ll have a couple more posts on Paris then it’s off to London!

5 thoughts on “SLWS Special Edition – Paris Architecture

  1. Eleanor Pruden

    Beautiful again but can you explain how these structures were built years and years ago without the precision equipment and engineering technology that we have today? It amazes me!!!

    Date: Tue, 24 Sep 2013 19:47:43 +0000 To: esppreferred@msn.com

    Reply
    1. Kate Post author

      It IS amazing, isn’t it? I know we can design things faster with computers and build them faster with modern equipment but I certainly have to wonder how many of our buildings will be around in 200 or 300 or 400 years. Maybe because we can complete them so quickly, we tend to think of them as disposable and replaceable. If it took me 100+ years to build a church chiefly by carrying huge stones up rickety wooden scaffolding by hand, I’d probably not want to have to repeat the process any time soon!

      Reply
  2. Anonymous

    Such detail! You’re right, I’d love to live in one of those penthouses, at least for some part of the year : ) Thanks for showing us.

    Reply
  3. Dee Copeland

    How wonderful it would be to live there and enjoy what you have seen every day. I like the viking ship weathervane. We need one of those here in my back yard. My husband used to own a sailboat. I gave him a weathervane with 4 teak sailboats and colored sails one Christmas. Those boats really sail during high winds!

    Reply

I encourage feedback from readers - on content, on my writing, on anything at all! Feel free to add a comment below.

